ASI (Breastmilk) Booster

Having a newborn, now almost two months old baby, I planned to have an exclusive breastfeed for at least a year. But with my past history of lack breast milk supply, I thought the idea of giving just breast milk is nearly impossible. Until I met the lovely nurse at my local clinic where I gave birth. Nurse Darti, that’s what she is called. Our incidental meet up was due to Naomi’s sudden request to have blue light treatment for a couple of days at the clinic. She was posted at the baby’s room where Naomi is put for treatment.

Since the other treatment for Naomi’s yellow-ish skin is breast milk, the nurse and the doctor asked me to provide expressed milk every one hour which I thought quite impossible with my previous history of combining formula milk with a bit of express milk. But then the nurse told me about a specific plant which locally known as “daun bangun-bangun” in Sumatera. She said it’s a Bataknese secret ingredients in producing lots and lots of breast milk.

I was a bit skeptical when I first heard about the plant, because I’m just a person who trust the doctor more than traditional remedy. However, being the in-law of a Bataknese, my father in-law asked around and found out that there’s a seller in Jakarta where he then purchase and send it to me. He told me he got it at Pasar Senen in the Pasar Inpres section in Bataknese district.

He told me to cook it with meat as “gulai”, so my mum quickly do her magic and cooked me the “bangun-bangun gulai”. I eat this meal twice a day on lunch time and dinner. At first it taste weird, with texture I never experience before. However, believe me when I say that my breast milk supply has increased ever since. Naomi almost two months old now, and I have not yet turn my self to the formula nor have I even tried to think about using it.

It is such a good result that I ended up telling people, family, relatives and friends who are currently nursing so they can have the same assurance as I am. And also because of that, I did a little bit of research on the web to know more about the health and benefit of this plant.

With a latin name Oleos Amboinicus (then) now known as Plectranthus Amboinicus, is a large succulent herb, fleshy and highly aromatic, much branch, possessing short sort erect hair with distinctive smell (Wikipedia). I personally think that it looks a lot like mint plant. Based on several articles around the web, this plant has so many benefit including: anti tumor and cancer. But there is also the benefit of increasing breast milk for nursing mum.

Since it contains high iron, fiber, magnesium and potassium, this plant when consumed will combined its nutrient with the breast milk resulting a healthy weight baby. In terms of helping or boosting the breast milk supply, this plant contains polyphenol, flavonoid, prolactin, and oxytocin which boost the nursing hormone.

So who said that we can’t exclusively breastfeed our baby? Turns out what seems to be impossible five years ago now is possible. And I hope this information will be able to help other nursing mum to never give up. Oh, my top tips: get enough rest (sleep), drink plenty of water, eat frequently or at least sufficiently and try to maintain the skin to skin (direct breastfeed) to the baby.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

